If you’re reading this from 26th March 2018 onwards, it may be because your AdWords account has been retired by Google. Any accounts that have not spent any money for the last 15 months will be deleted to speed up the AdWords experience.

So Google deleted my account?

Yes.

But all is not lost. You have some options:

  1. Simply reactivate your account (phew!)

There is  an option to do this by going to your account preferences.

Preferences can be found by going to your tools, billing and settings section (the spanner, top-right). Then go to ‘Preferences’ under the ‘Setup’ section of your site.

From there you’ll be able to select the option to reactivate your account if its’s been deleted.

where to reactivate my google adwords account

where to reactivate my google adwords account

  1. You *could* create a new account.

I hear you, yes this could take a bit of time and if you used the account a lot in the past, the historical data could be very useful. However, please bear in mind, a lot of has changed in the last 15 months.

This could be an opportunity for a squeaky-clean new AdWords account, a fresh set of keywords to target and some funky new ad copy.

Of course, if you have a lot of historical data that you’re looking to use as a basis for your ongoing activity, I’m not telling you to delete and re-create your account. It’s up to you – it’s just an option.

  1. Show cancelled accounts (MCC Only).

If you’re using a MCC (My Client Centre) – I’m looking at you, agencies, this one is easy. Simply select the ‘show hidden’ option in the menu (the three dots on the left).

Still a little confused? Why not get in touch – I’d be happy to help you out. Good luck and get some use out of your AdWords accounts!

Categories: AdWords

Leave a Reply